EAFT Awards 2020

The call for nominations for the Terminology Awards is now open.
The two International Terminology Awards the International Award for Distinguished Achievement in Terminology (MA level) and the International Award for Outstanding Achievement in Terminology Research and Development (PhD level).

Submissions may consist of doctoral theses or masters dissertations in any language, but must be accompanied by a ten-page summary in English.
The Awards are open to candidates from all over the world. Submitted theses or dissertations will be evaluated on the basis of the innovativeness of their content and how they contribute towards further developing applied research and development in the field of terminology.

The Awards Ceremony will take place during the XI Terminology Summit, which will be held in Dublin on 19-20 November 2020.

Candidates are required to submit their candidature online by May 15, 2020.



An international jury chaired by Anca-Marina Velicu will examine the works (four theses - written in English, French, Spanish and Bulgarian – and one dissertation, in English):


Anca-Marina Velicu, president (University of Bucharest, Romania)

Ana Ostroški, vice president (Institute of Croatian Language and Linguistics, Croatia)

Georgeta Ciobanu (Politehnica University Timişoara, Romania)    

Rute Costa (FCSH, Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Portugal)

Marjeta Humar (independent humanities specialist, former member of the Institute of the Slovenian Language, Slovenia)            

Corina Lascu-Cilianu (The Bucharest University of Economical Studies, Romania)

Nina Pilke (University of Vaasa, Finland)

Frieda Steurs (KU Leuven, Belgium)

Maria Teresa Zanola (Università Cattolica Del Sacro Cuore; Assiterm; Realiter, Italy)


With the exceptional participation of two external experts, fluent in Bulgarian, for a second and third evaluation of the Bulgarian written thesis (first evaluation by Marjeta Humar, member of the Jury): Sia Kolkovska (Bulgarian Academy of Science, Bulgaria), and Lucia Dragomir (University of Bucharest, Romania).


REGULATIONS for the International Terminology Awards.

Contact the President of the Jury, Anca Velicu ancamarinavelicu@gmail.com or anca.velicu@lls.unibuc.ro for any further information.



Master Program in Terminology

Outside the frames: New challenges in terminology work
5 March

DTT seminars
16-17 et 24-25 April

1-2 June

The 2nd interdisciplinary conference on National languages in academic research and higher education
7-8 October 

Conference on terminology Scientific
21-22 October

EAFT Summit
25-26 November




Multilingual Digital Terminology Today

MDTT 2022 

16-17 June